Search This Blog

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

The Senate Judiciary Committee

The Senate Judiciary Committee currently has 21 members:  11 Republicans, 10 Democrats.

Four of the Democrats are women: ranking member Dianne Feinstein of California, Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota, Mazie Hirono of Hawaii, and Kamala Harris of California.  No Republican women sit on the committee.

Neither Chairman Chuck Grassley (Iowa) nor ranking member Dianne Feinstein is an attorney.

With Harris and Cory Booker of New Jersey, the committee has two African American members for the first time.  During the 1991 Clarence Thomas hearings, it had none. Indeed, there were no African American senators at the time.  Thomas used that situation to his advantage: